Design and its concept in the actual sense and in a modern understanding is planning and anticipating the future. It continuously updates its methods and the necessary scientific, technical and practical correlations. Design means designing for rational use, reflecting social and technological processes for today and the future.

In the last 30 years, the tools of design have changed structurally. Today and in the future, design development is based on digital methods (drawing, construction, model, data) as well as on intellectual research into the creative interdependencies and contexts of social-technological structures.

In the field of Technical Products and Product Systems, innovative scenarios for disruptive situations are developed in a full, virtual and networked design approach in order to contribute to the improvement of human coexistence and interaction as a whole.

Three fields play a decisive role at this: 1. Sciences and theories – such as philosophy, statistics, ecology, sociology, aesthetics and many others – look at future-relevant topics and causal relationships from the human perspective (Circle of Humanity). 2. New technologies such as augmented and virtual reality, nano and sensor technology, artificial intelligence, material technology and much more contribute process-oriented expertise to planning and development (Circle of Nerds). 3. Strategies of thought and design such as discussion, rapprochement, research, empiricism and other scientific and creative approaches guarantee continuous impulses and a steady increase in knowledge (Circle of Practices).

The methodical approach from these three problem-oriented perspectives is practiced (teaching) and implemented (research) in design projects. Nevertheless, designers and design remain in their essence what they have always been: an epistemic approach to unresolved issues with the help of visualization. Often still with pen and paper. So designers are visualizers. Not much? We think it’s the key!

↳ More information about the discipline of Technical Products and Product Systems can be found here.

Frank Zebner

Designer & Professor

Lina Djouiai

Designer & Scientific Assistant

Karlotta Klußmann

Designer & Scientific Assistant

Hui Wang

Designer & Scientific Assistant

Benjamin Vogt

Designer & Doctoral Candidate

Pia Scharf

Designer & Doctoral Candidate

Fabian Kragenings

Designer & Doctoral Candidate

Dylan McGuire

Designer & Student Assistant

Dr. Martin Gessmann

Philosopher & Professor

Prof. Frank Zebner maintains scientific contacts and strategic partnerships with research institutions on all five continents. These include academies and universities in Beijing, Brisbane, Buenos Aires, Hangzhou, Havana, Hong Kong, Cape Town, Melbourne, Moscow, New York, Oslo, Tokyo, Seoul and Shanghai. These relationships are to be bundled even more strongly in future in order to establish an international network for exchange and cooperation in the field of scientific design research and development.

↳ More information about Prof. Frank Zebner can be found here.

Design und sein Konzept im eigentlichen Sinne und in einem modernen Verständnis ist die Planung und Antizipation der Zukunft. Es aktualisiert kontinuierlich seine Methoden und die notwendigen wissenschaftlichen, technischen und praktischen Zusammenhänge. Design bedeutet Entwerfen für den vernünftigen Gebrauch und reflektiert dabei gesellschaftlich-technologische Prozesse für das Heute und für die Zukunft.

In den letzten 30 Jahren haben sich die Werkzeuge des Designs strukturell verändert. Heute und in Zukunft basiert die Designentwicklung sowohl auf digitalen Methoden (Zeichnung, Konstruktion, Modell, Daten) als auch auf intellektueller Erforschung der gestalterischen Interdependenzen und Kontexte der gesellschaftlich-technologischen Gefüge.

Im Lehrgebiet Technische Produkte und Produktsysteme werden in einem umfassenden, virtuellen und vernetzten Designansatz innovative Szenarien für disruptive Situationen entworfen, um damit zur Verbesserung des menschlichen Zusammenlebens und -wirkens als Ganzes beizutragen.

Drei Felder spielen hierbei eine entscheidende Rolle: 1. Wissenschaften und Theorien – wie Philosophie, Statistik, Ökologie, Soziologie, Ästhetik und viele weitere – betrachten zukunftsrelevante Themen und kausale Zusammenhänge aus der menschlichen Perspektive (Circle of Humanity). 2. Neue Technologien wie Augmented und Virtual Reality, Nano- und Sensortechnologie, Künstliche Intelligenz, Materialtechnologie und vieles mehr bringen prozessorientierte Expertisen in die Planung und Entwicklung ein (Circle of Nerds). 3. Denk-und Entwurfsstrategien wie Diskussion, Annäherung, Recherche, Empirie und andere wissenschaftliche und gestalterische Vorgehensweisen garantieren kontinuierliche Impulse und einen stetigen Erkenntniszuwachs (Circle of Practices).

Der methodische Ansatz aus diesen drei problemorientierten Perspektiven wird in Designprojekten geübt (Lehre) und umgesetzt (Forschung). Dennoch bleiben Designer_innen und das Design im Wesen das, was es immer war: Eine epistemische Herangehensweise an ungelöste Themen mit Hilfe der Visualisierung. Oft noch mit Stift und Papier. Designer_innen sind also Visualisierer. Nicht viel? Wir denken, es ist der Schlüssel!

↳ Mehr Informationen zum Lehrgebiet Technische Produkte und Produktsysteme finden Sie hier.

Frank Zebner

Designer & Professor

Lina Djouiai

Designerin & Wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin

Karlotta Klußmann

Designerin & Wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin

Hui Wang

Designerin & Wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin

Benjamin Vogt

Designer & Promovend

Pia Scharf

Designerin & Promovendin

Fabian Kragenings

Designer & Promovend

Dylan McGuire

Designer & Studentische Hilfskraft

Dr. Martin Gessmann

Philosoph & Professor

Prof. Frank Zebner unterhält wissenschaftliche Kontakte und strategische Partnerschaften zu Forschungseinrichtungen auf allen fünf Erdteilen. Darunter sind Akademien und Universitäten in Beijing, Brisbane, Buenos Aires, Hangzhou, Havanna, Hongkong, Kapstadt, Melbourne, Moskau, New York, Oslo, Tokyo, Seoul oder Shanghai. Diese Beziehungen sollen zukünftig noch stärker gebündelt werden, um ein internationales Netzwerk für Austausch und Zusammenarbeit im Bereich der wissenschaftlichen Designforschung und Designentwicklung aufzubauen.

↳ Mehr Informationen zu Prof. Frank Zebner finden Sie hier.